Building Awards 2017 shortlist

Congratulations to all of our Building Awards 2017 finalists!

In a year of change, challenge and opportunity, there is work to be acknowledged and achievements to be celebrated. Join us on Tuesday 6 November to recognise, celebrate and network as the winners are revealed.

Just out – Construction Client of the Year sponsored by Mott MacDonald

Derwent London
Education and Skills Funding Agency
Lipton Rogers Developments
Network Rail
Transport for London
University of Bristol

Building Magazine Woman of the Year sponsored by AECOM
Anna Tsartsari – BE Design
Dervilla Mitchell – Arup
Helen Bunch – Wates Group
Karen Mosley – HLM
Lucy Homer – Lendlease
Rachel Woolliscroft – Wates Group
Sarah Williamson – BYLOR

Construction Consultant/Surveyor of the Year (fewer than 100 staff)
Adept Management
BE Design
Core Five
Edmond Shipway
Plan A Consultants

Construction Consultant/Surveyor of the Year (100 staff or over) sponsored by Elecosoft
Faithful + Gould
Malcolm Hollis
Mott MacDonald

Architectural Practice of the Year sponsored by Comar
5plus Architects
Allford Hall Monaghan Morris
Assael Architecture
BuckleyGray Yeoman
Fairhursts Design Group
Todd Architects

Engineering Consultant of the Year sponsored by Hadley Group
Davies Maguire
Foster + Partners
Heyne Tillett Steel
Hilson Moran
Mott MacDonald
TÜV SÜD Real Estate
Webb Yates

Contractor of the Year (up to £300m) sponsored by Fenwick Elliott 
BW: Workplace Experts
Speller Metcalfe

Major Contractor of the Year (over £300m) sponsored by Stannah
GRAHAM Construction
McLaren Construction
Wates Group

Housing Project of the Year
Barns Road – Allford Hall Monaghan Morris
Carrowbreck Meadow – Hamson Barron Smith
Fitzroy Place – AECOM
Holy Trinity – Rock Townsend Architects and Stockwool
Oval Quarter/ Myatts Field North – PRP
Pinnacle N10 – pH+ Architects
Spring at Stonebridge Park – Cullinan Studio
Tapestry – Niall McLaughlin Architects
Trumpington Meadows – Barratt Homes Eastern Counties
Woodside Square, Muswell Hill – Hill

Product Innovation of the Year  
Knauf Insulation
Leica Geosystems
Offsite Solutions
OSO Hotwater
Sayfa Systems
Solarlux Systems

Housebuilder of the Year sponsored by 
Barratt Developments
Berkeley Group
Miller Homes
Redrow Homes

Specialist Contractor of the Year sponsored by Lakesmere
M. Lambe Construction
NG Bailey
O’Donovan Waste Disposal

Building Magazine Project of the Year sponsored by Schueco
8 Finsbury Circus – Lendlease
Dyson HQ Expansion – ISG
Inpatient Ward Block at the Ulster Hospital – GRAHAM Construction
Mercers Walk – Geoffrey Osborne
New Scotland Yard – Allford Hall Monaghan Morris
Oastler Building, University of Huddersfield – Morgan Sindall
Tate Modern Blavatnik Building – Ramboll
The Design Museum & Hollandgreen – OMA, Allies and Morrison & John Pawson
The Spark Building, Southampton Solent University – Scott Brownrigg
XYZ Building – Cartwright Pickard

Small Project of the Year (up to £5m) sponsored by Clement Windows Group
Ashton Old Baths – MCAU
Barrett’s Grove – Webb Yates Engineers
Eleven Spitalfields Gallery – Chris Dyson Architects
German Embassy – Coniston
Kellogg College Hub – Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios
Maggie’s Centre – Foster + Partners
New Ground Cohousing – Pollard Thomas Edwards
Sunbeams Music Centre – MawsonKerr Architects
The Boilerhouse – Cartwright Pickard
The Garden Museum – Rooff

International Project of the Year 
Bolshevik Factory – John McAslan + Partners
Microsoft Deutschland – Turner & Townsend
Oslo Airport Extension – AKT II/ Nordic
Park Hyatt Mallorca – AECOM/ DSA International
Xiao Jing Wan University Building – Foster + Partners

Refurbishment Project of the Year sponsored by AET Flexible Space
Albert Works – Cartwright Pickard
Brook House Studio – Field Architecture
Lord’s Cricket Ground Media Centre – David Miller Architects
LSQ London – Make Architects
Park Hill – Urban Splash & Places for People
Paul Webley Wing, Senate House – Mace & Rock Townsend
Richmond Building – Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios
Storyhouse – Bennetts Associates
The Bartlett School of Architecture – BuroHappold Engineering
The Cooperage – Chris Dyson Architects

Skills Initiative of the Year
Developing Careers in Building Control – Aedis Training & Development
Pathways to Engineering – Atkins in partnership with Citizens UK
Clark Contracts Academy – Clark Contracts
ISG National Skills Academy for Construction – ISG
Redland Young Roofer Student Support Programme – Monier Redland
Greater Peterborough University Technical College – Larkfleet & GPUTC
The Crest Nicholson Site Management Academy – Crest Nicholson
Plan BEE – Ryder Architecture

Sustainability Project of the Year
119 Ebury Street – David Morley Architects
9 Greyfriars Road, Reading – Greengage Environmental
House 19 – Jestico + Whiles
Scottish Power Headquarters – TÜV SÜD Real Estate
The Active Classroom – SPECIFIC
The GlaxoSmithKline Centre for Sustainability – Morgan Sindall & Fairhursts Design Group
Trumpington Community College – Morgan Sindall
Virido, Cambridge – Hill

BIM Initiative of the Year
BIM Guidance Portal – Scottish Futures Trust
BIMHawk – NG Bailey
Brighton 3Ts Virtual Reality – Mid Group
Component Tracking – Laing O’Rourke
Data Capture & Process – ISG
GeoConnect+ – PCSG, GroupBC and Ordnance Survey
Interactive Virtual Reality linked to 4D model – Multiplex
Visual Dashboard Initiative – Lendlease
Wavin BIM Intelligent Content – Wavin

Digital Efficiency Initiative of the Year
GF Tomlinson –
HBXL Building Software (House Builder XL)
Safety Management Advisory Services
The Square Construction

Offsite Project of the Year
Chapter Lewisham – WestonWilliamson+Partners
Garden Halls – Maccreanor Lavington and TP Bennett
Global Academy – Portakabin
Gasholders London – SES Engineering Services
London City Island Phase 17 – Ballymore
Lynch Hill Enterprise Academy – The McAvoy Group
Pinewood Studios – Arup Associates

Construction Client of the Year sponsored by Mott MacDonald  
More news soon

CEOs’ CEO of the Year 
More news soon

The Building Magazine Personality of the Year sponsored by Hays
To be announced on the night.